This news release from the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America (Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople) announces a recent agreement between the Jerusalem and Constantinople Patriarchates ceding the JP’s claims of jurisdiction in the United States to the latter.  Its parishes here will form a vicariate directly under the jurisdiction of the Greek Archbishop of America, seemingly similar in many ways to Constantinople’s other non-Greek groups here, but without the status of a diocese or full “jurisdiction” of its own like them.  As they highlight that this will have the effect of bringing the JP’s Church here under the SCOBA umbrella (but without distinct representation on SCOBA), that will leave only the Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia (ROCOR) apart from it, among “canonical” Orthodox jurisdictions based here in the States.

Orthodoxwiki discusses the JP here, on this page, and links to a new page of theirs about the new Vicariate.*  A couple years ago I thought I read that, objecting to talk of the GOA absorbing breakaway Antiochian parishes (as discussed on Orthodoxwiki), the Antiochian Archdiocese of North America temporarily put the breaks on SCOBA Primates’ meetings.  But I lack complete information on this point.  SCOBA meetings have resumed since that time.

I have also read that the GOA does include a handful of parishes defined by Orthodox ethnicity other than Greek, including Romanian.  I don’t know the history there either.

(*–The small Belarusan “Council” of parishes that Orthodoxwiki continues to list in the present tense disappeared from GOA/EP information products – website, printed directory – some time in the last couple years.  I don’t know what happened to them, if anything.)

  1. Leo Peter O'Filon

    Welcome, Alana! Yes, I saw it. Basically the Antiochian Archdiocese of North America still claims at least some of the Jerusalem parishes and considers them irregular until they resolve their situation with it one way or another. In addition, OrthodoxWiki says in the Vicariate article that these parishes basically reject the arrangement with Constantinople and the Greek Archdiocese. I’m not coming across alot of further info about this situation, where it came from, why, etc., so I have no further insight at this time. I guess it won’t go smoothly for the time being, for good or for ill.

    I don’t take a side here; it doesn’t involve me personally. But I have benefited a little from the ministries of the Monastery in Georgia and a mission in California (ain’t cyberspace a blast?!). Let us pray that God’s All-Holy Spirit will heal relations among Orthodox, forgive us our sins, and save us and all people.

  2. AR

    Amen. I’m glad you linked to me as I found you again because of it. I knew I’d made this comment somewhere but couldn’t remember where. I like your perspective. Kindly, analytical, not impassioned.




Leave a Reply

